Our Projects

Our wide range of projects were all dreamt up by students, started up by students, and are now managed on a daily basis, with exceptional professionalism, by students. With over 50 projects to choose from, we hope you’ll find one that’s for you!

Got an idea for a new project? Get in touch! We are always looking for new projects and new ways to meet community need. You don’t even have to run the project yourself, but if you choose to, you will be supported all the way in setting up and running it.

If you have an idea, please drop into the office to discuss the possibilities, or e-mail us at community.action@dur.ac.uk.

Community

Our projects with adults are a great way to interact with other generations and people from different backgrounds: they can offer lasting friendships and life experience.

Education

Our wide variety of student-led educational projects are a great way to make a visible difference and witness real development, and meet a range of new people.

Recreation

We offer a range of student-led projects with children. They’re great fun, always full of energy, and a brilliant opportunity to help people develop at an early stage of their lives.

Lead A Project

Projects we are currently recruiting project leaders for:

Daisy Chain, Queen’s Campus

For young people with Autism Spectrum Condition, Daisy Chain provides opportunities for them to get together and develop social skills. Volunteer at weekly social groups for young people with Autism Spectrum Condition. There is a variety of groups running at Daisy Chain, from highly structured sessions with a high staff ratio to sessions suitable for young people who need less support. These sessions give children the chance to play together and their parents some time for themselves!

Dog Walking, Queen’s Campus

Our volunteers have teamed up with an organisation called the Cinnamon Trust, which aims to provide care for the pets of elderly owners who are no longer able to do so. Volunteers are paired with an owner and their dog, and will organise walks from the owner’s home on a regular basis. The all-important bond between owner and dog can be preserved, giving owners the chance to continue to enjoy the company of their beloved friend.

Elderly Visiting, Queen’s Campus

Roseville is a care home close to Queens Campus that provides care to the elderly and those with Dementia. Volunteers provide company and a friendly face to residents, and can help with everything from arts and crafts to going to the theatre with them. It is a hugely rewarding and fun project, and you get to be part of an amazingly close-knit group of people.

Queen’s Campus Generations Together

Generations together is a befriending project with the aim of alleviating the loneliness and isolation felt by elderly resident living alone in Stockton-on-tees. Volunteers will be put into twos or threes and then paired with an elderly resident within the community. Volunteers will visit their resident for a few hours on a weekly or fortnightly basis in their home, providing them with some companionship. During these visits volunteers can offer friendly conversation and activities dependent on their resident’s interests or offer their help around the house with tasks the resident may struggle to do alone.

River Tees Rediscovered, Queen’s Campus

Interested in conservation? Want to spend some time volunteering out in the open air? We’ve got a variety of opportunities working to explore and celebrate the River Tees! No particular skills or experience are necessary as we will provide all the training and equipment you need to take part. We’ll be organising one-off conservation events along with a project with more regular commitment – get in touch to find out more!

To apply for any of the roles, please read through the roles and responsibility of project leader, fill out the application form, and return to community.action@durham.ac.uk ASAP

Roles and Responsibilities of Project Leaders

Good Luck!

Contact Our Project Leaders

Alington House alingtonhouse.sca@durham.ac.uk
Beyond Food beyondfood.sca@durham.ac.uk
Cakes for kids cakesforkids.sca@durham.ac.uk
CATSS catss.sca@durham.ac.uk
CATSS Secondary catsssecondary.sca@durham.ac.uk
Code Club codeclub.sca@durham.ac.uk
Cyber Champions cyberchampions.sca@durham.ac.uk
Children’s Parties parties.sca@durham.ac.uk
Computeas computeas.sca@durham.ac.uk
Creche creche.sca@durham.ac.uk
Dog Walking dogwalking.sca@durham.ac.uk
Durham Minds mentalhealth.sca@durham.ac.uk
English Corner englishcorner.sca@durham.ac.uk
Free Cakes for Kids cakesforkids.sca@durham.ac.uk
Further Maths Club furthermaths.sca@durham.ac.uk
Future First futurefirst.sca@durham.ac.uk
Generations Together generations.sca@durham.ac.uk
GOALS goals.sca@durham.ac.uk
Healthy Bodies, Healthy Minds community.action@durham.ac.uk
Holiday Camps community.action@durham.ac.uk
Keenan House Homework Club keenan.sca@durham.ac.uk
Maths Club mathsclub.sca@durham.ac.uk
MFL Primary mflprimary.sca@durham.ac.uk
MFL Secondary mflsecondary.sca@durham.ac.uk
NEPACS (Prison Volunteering) katie.j.stobbs@durham.ac.uk
One-to-One Tutoring tutoring.sca@durham.ac.uk
Otters Swim Club otter.club@durham.ac.uk
Riding for the Disabled (RDA) rda.sca@durham.ac.uk
Brain Storm Science Club scienceclub.sca@durham.ac.uk
Scholars into Schools scholar.sca@durham.ac.uk
Students 4 Students chair.durham@students4students.org.uk
Sixth Form Tutoring sixthform.sca@durham.ac.uk
Teaching Assistants (Primary) primaryschools.sca@durham.ac.uk
Teaching Assistants (Secondary) secondaryassistants.sca@durham.ac.uk
Teaching Assistants (Specialist) specialistschools.sca@durham.ac.uk
Tea Parties teaparties.sca@durham.ac.uk
Thurston Drama and Art Project thurston.sca@durham.ac.uk
Wheatley Hill Youth Club youthclub.sca@durham.ac.uk