Durham University Home
17th BCA/CCG Intensive Teaching School in X-Ray Structure Analysis
6th April - 14th April 2019, Trevelyan College, Durham, UK

School Home Page

Online Application

General Information

School Timetable

School Staff

Olex2 workshop

Other Schools in UK

Travelling to Durham

Trevelyan College

Collingwood College

Durham Chemistry







Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre


Rigaku Oxford Diffraction

Oxford Cryosystems




The school staff consists of lecturers and tutors. There are 10 tutor groups of 7-8 students, each of which has an assigned tutor, and the aim is that all practical work is carried out as a group, with the tutor making sure all members of the group understand each different piece of work or topic. A list of the lecturers and tutors can be found below.


Prof. Richard Cooper

Richard followed a Chemistry MA from Oxford with a DPhil in Crystallographic Computing in the research group of David Watkin. After research posts in academia and industry he returned to Oxford Chemistry in 2010 as Head of Chemical Crystallography and Associate Professor. His research interests include crystallographic structure analysis and application of machine learning classification methods to crystallographic data. In his spare time he is responsible for the development and distribution of the crystallographic analysis software CRYSTALS. He is currently vice president of the British Crystallographic Association.

Dr. Stephen Moggach

Stephen received his BSc degree in Applied Chemistry from The Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen, in 2002. From 2002-2006, he did his PhD under the supervision of Professor Simon Parsons at the University of Edinburgh in the field of high-pressure crystallography, where he studied the effect of pressure on amino acids. In 2006, he began a postdoctoral research fellowship in the same group studying the effect of pressure on single molecule magnets. In 2008 he received a Royal Society of Edinburgh/Scottish Government Personal Research Fellowship to study the effect of pressure on porous materials, winning the CCDC Chemical Crystallography Prize for Younger Scientists (2010) and the European High Pressure Research Group award (2012) for his work in this field. Stephen was appointed as a lecturer in Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Edinburgh in 2011.

Dr. Lukas Palatinus

Lukas is a crystallographer by education. He is interested in the solution of the phase problem by iterative dual-space methods, and is developing software for structure solution based on these methods, especially involving the charge-flipping algorithm. His main research topic is currently the application of electron diffraction to the solution and refinement of crystal structures. His specific interest is incommensurately modulated structures.

Prof. Simon Parsons

Simon is a Professor of Crystallography working as part of the Centre for Science at Extreme Conditions in Edinburgh (CSEC). Research in his group focuses on polymorphism in simple molecular solids; the effects of very high pressures on molecular systems; twinning and absolute structure determination. Pressures up to 100 kbar are an extremely powerful tool for studying phase transitions in simple organic systems, and he is currently trying to tune magnetism using pressure. Simon also has an interest in crystal growth from liquids and gases. As Scientific Director of the Intensive School, he is responsible for organising its content

Dr. Helena Shepherd

Helena received an MChem from the University of Bath before moving to Durham University for a PhD under the supervision of Dr Andrés Goeta and Professor Judith Howard. After Postdoctoral positions at the Laboratory of Coordination Chemistry (CNRS) in Toulouse and the University of Bath, Helena moved to the University of Kent in 2015, where she is currently a Lecturer in Chemistry. Her research focuses on switchable molecular materials, investigating all aspects from fundamental structure-property correlations to novel synthetic approaches and applications. She has a particular interest in studying phase transitions in molecular systems under extremes of pressure, temperature and light irradiation using a combination of crystallography, spectroscopy and magnetometry.


Dr. Andrew Cairns

Dr. Katharina Edkins

Dr. Nick Funnell

Dr. Lauren Hatcher

Dr. Stephen Moggach

Dr. Mike Probert

Dr. Mark Senn

Dr. Hazel Sparkes

Dr. Amber Thompson

Dr. Mark Warren

Dr. Claire Wilson

Evening Sessions


Dr. Dmitry S. Yufit


Dr. Peter Wood

Local Organisers

Prof. Judith A.K. Howard, FRS

Judith began her scientific career with an Honours Degree from Bristol University and then she moved to Oxford where she studied with Nobel Prize winner, Dorothy Hodgkin, OM. Judith received her D.Phil from Oxford University in Chemical Crystallography using neutron diffraction techniques and returned to Bristol as a Research Fellow. She moved to Durham in 1991 to the Foundation Chair in Structural Chemistry. In Durham, she has developed advanced X-ray diffraction instrumentation for studying materials at very low temperatures combined with high pressures, enabling researchers to explore structure-property relationships of new 'smart' materials and to begin to explore dynamics in the solid state. Judith has been involved with the BCA school since its inception and remains a vocal supporter of young people in science.

Dr. Hazel A. Sparkes

Hazel completed her undergraduate degree (2002) and PhD (2005) in Chemistry at the University of Bath, she then moved to Durham to do a PDRA working for Professor Judith Howard, before being awarded a Leverhulme Early Career Research Fellowship which she held in Durham. She attended the school in 2003 and in 2009 was awarded the CCDC prize for younger scientists. She is currently working at the University of Bristol as the crystallographer and is researching solid-state phenomena including photo-induced solid-state [2+2] cycloaddition reactions, thermochromism and photochromism. She also carries out charge density studies into the bonding and atomic interactions in both organic small molecules and organometallic complexes.

Many thanks to our sponsors, without whom it would not have been possible to hold the 16th school:
DIAMOND, CCG, IUCr, ECA, Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre, Bruker, Rigaku-Oxford Diffraction, Oxford Cryosystems, Incoatec, ICG, Pfizer.