The Ruth First Educational Trust provides opportunities for students from southern Africa to undertake postgraduate study at Durham University (UK)

banner image

Applications for the 2014-15 Scholarship are now closed: the outcome of the selection process will be announced on this page in June 2014

Next event: Ruth First Lecture by Professor Ahmed Bawa on 28 April 2014

What is the RFET?

How do we raise funds?

Who was Ruth First?

How to apply for a scholarship

This year's Ruth First Scholar

Former Scholars

How to support the Trust


Annual reports

Trustees and Committee members


Southern Africa today: links

The people in the pictures above are (from left to right): Nomazile Chicho, Peter Okeno Ong'are, Bill Bryson, Mzwanele Tola and Simplicio Bhebhe


Dr Bill Bryson, former Chancellor of Durham University
Sir Thomas Allen, Chancellor of Durham University
Professor Christopher Higgins,Vice-Chancellor of Durham University
Gillian Slovo, writer, daughter of Ruth First and Joe Slovo

Supporting organizations:

Durham University

St Chad's College

Durham County Council

Durham Miners' Association

the owners of Ruth First House in Durham

Registered UK Charity no. 1019975


Chairman: Dr Mike Thompson
Secretary: Dr Cheryl McEwan
Treasurer: Mrs Barbara Ewin

university logo