Jeremy M. Hutson, FRS
MA, DPhil (Oxon)

Professor of Chemistry and Physics

Office CG103K
Tel  +44 (0)191 33 42147 (not in use during Covid pandemic)

Jeremy Hutson is leader of the Cold Molecules Theory Research Group. Cold Molecules Group 2009

The group's research interests are in the quantum mechanics and quantum dynamics of molecular interactions:

    Potential energy surfaces for ultracold collisions
    Formation of ultracold molecules by atom association
    Properties of ultracold molecules
    Control of ultracold collisions with electric, magnetic and microwave fields
    Use of ultracold molecules for quantum science
    Development of coherently controlled ultracold chemistry

Opportunities to join the research group

We have several grants from the UK Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), including a very large Programme Grant entitled "QSUM: Quantum Science with Ultracold Molecules" (2017-22). This is a joint experimental and theoretical project, together with colleagues in the Durham Physics Department (Simon Cornish), at Imperial College London (Ed Hinds, Michael Tarbutt and Ben Sauer), and at Oxford (Dieter Jaksch).

A funded Ph.D. studentdhip is available to work on the Theory of Ultracold Molecules, funded by the UK Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), with a starting date of October 2021. There are restrictions that depend on nationality and residency, but mostly restrict eligibility to UK students. Further information on the position is available here. Early applications are encouraged, and the studentship will be allocated if an outstanding student applies. Initial enquiries should be sent by email.

The group welcomes applications from well-qualified scientists to apply for personal Fellowships, including Durham International Fellowships, EPSRC Postdoctoral Fellowships, Newton International Fellowships and overseas government fellowships.

For German scientists, Jeremy Hutson's Humboldt Research Award makes him eligible as a host for Feodor Lynen Research Fellowships. Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Recent awards

Thomson Medal 2016 (Institute of Physics)
Tilden Prize 2011 (Royal Society of Chemistry)
Elected Fellow of the Royal Society 2010
Humboldt Research Award 2010 (Alexander von Humboldt Foundation)
Kolos Medal Computational Chemistry Award 2007 (Royal Society of Chemistry)
Kolos Medal 2007 (University of Warsaw and Polish Chemical Society)

International collaborations

Prof. Paul S. Julienne (NIST, Gaithersburg and JQI, University of Maryland):
Theory of molecule formation in ultracold atomic gases
Prof. Dr. Hanns-Christoph Naegerl and Prof. Dr. Rudolf Grimm (University of Innsbruck and Austrian Academy of Sciences):
Formation and properties of alkali metal dimers
Prof. Ed Hinds and Dr. Michael Tarbutt (Imperial College London):
Microkelvin Molecules in a Quantum Array


International eviews in Physical Chemistry Editor of International Reviews in Physical Chemistry (2000-)
Previously Specialist Editor of Computer Physics Communications
Previously served on the Editorial Boards of Molecular Physics and the Journal of Chemical Physics.

Conference Organisation

Chairman of the Organising Committee for Faraday Discussion 142, on Cold and Ultracold Molecules (Durham, 2009)

Chair (with Dan Neumark) of the Gordon Conference on Molecular and Ionic Clusters (Aussois, France, 2008).

Vice-Chair (with Dan Neumark) of the Gordon Conference on Molecular and Ionic Clusters (Ventura, California, 2006).

Organiser (with Pavel Soldan) of a major European conference on Bose-Einstein Condensation: from atoms to molecules (Durham, 2004).

Organiser (with Roman Krems and John Doyle) of an ITAMP workshop on Ultracold Polar Molecules: production and properties (Harvard University, 2004) EuroQUAM brochure cover

Organiser (with Anne McCoy) of Telluride Workshops on Doped Rare Gas Clusters (2002) and on Spectroscopy and Dynamics on Multiple Surfaces (2003).

Chairman of the Organising Committee for Faraday Discussion 118, on Cluster Dynamics (2001).

Founder of the series of CCP6 Workshops

Organiser of several CCP6 Workshops, including one in September 2002 on Interactions of Cold Atoms and Molecules.

Computer Programs

MOLSCAT package for quantum-mechanical atomic and molecular inelastic scattering calculations.
BOUND program for calculating the vibration-rotation energy levels of weakly bound species such as Van der Waals complexes.
I-NoLLS, the Interactive Non-Linear Least-Squares package (with Mark Law).

Professional Organisations

C. Chem., FRSC and FInstP
Chair of the Scientific Committee of EuroQUAM, the European Science Foundation EUROCORES Programme on Cold Quantum Matter (2007-2010).
Committee member of the Molecular Physics Group of the Institute of Physics (2005-07)
Board member of the Division of Atomic and Molecular Physics of the European Physical Society (2004-06).
Chairman of CCP6, the Collaborative Computational Project on Molecular Quantum Dynamics (1999-2005).

Mailing List

Founder and list owner of the molecular-dynamics-news email list, which distributes news for chemical physics research community. The list is run on the JISCmail Mailing List Service. For information on how to join the list, click here.


Rafting in California Jeremy's hobbies include white-water rafting (though he has been known to fall out of the raft), skiing (though he doesn't always keep his feet there, either), and hill-walking (which is usually safer).


Tudhoe Village on a postcard from ca. 1900

Jeremy is also interested in local history and vernacular architecture, and has written a History of Tudhoe Village in County Durham.

Content © J. M. Hutson, Durham University 2019